Country By Design knit place mats

Country By Design place mat

This is the last project that I finished before I left for St. Louis.  This place mat, which is one of two, is made by knitting strips of fabric together, just like yarn.  The only difference is that I just tied on a new strip of fabric to the end of each previous strip and keep knitting, pulling the knots through so they are part of the design.  Each row is knit.  Here’s a close up.

You can see that each strip is about 1/4 to 3/8 inches wide.  I really like the fabrics that fray out and leave lots of strings.  Most of the fabric strips are muslin, flannel or homespun.

I don’t have my sewing machine, so I started another set of knitted place mats.  I’m going to just use off-white, red, and green in this next set.  I may tea-dye them, too.

I made an apple crisp earlier and have a meatloaf in the oven.  Now I just have to heat up some mashed potatoes and corn from the freezer.

I downloaded 105 images from my camera today, so you will see more of my St. Louis trip soon, especially from my afternoon at the Missouri Botanical Gardens.

 

 

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Country By Design and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

