Vintage denim garland and duffel bag

I’m still figuring out how to use my vintage denim stash.  I used pieces from several different pairs to make this duffel bag.

Vintage denim duffel bag

I stitched all the seams to the right side and clipped them just like I clip my rag quilts.  I think I should have made the handles narrower or without the clipped edges.  I’m going to start on another one tomorrow, but I’m going to make it smaller.  This one is big enough to use for a diaper bag.  In addition to the outside pocket, there is also a large inside zipper pocket.  I may add a side pocket to the next one.

Vintage denim garland

I hate to throw anything away, even smalls strips of fabric.  But this is the first time I have found a good use for them.  This garland is made with strips of fabric that are 1/2 inch wide or less, and 5 to 7 inches long.  Each strip is tied to a piece of twine.  I added some plain red strips, and some holiday print strips for contrast.

Today was really quiet around here compared to yesterday.  All of our children and their families except one came out yesterday for our Thanksgiving dinner.  I didn’t count noses, but there wasn’t much room to wiggle, plus it rained all day and it was cold so no one could go outside to burn off excess energy.  And, for a change, I didn’t eat too much.  I fixed the turkey, getting up at 5:30 to get it in the oven.  We didn’t have any unusual food this year except for edemame.  Some of the grandkids really like it.

You could have knocked me down with a wet noodle this afternoon.  Even after I took a nap, I still didn’t have any energy, but I kept moving.  I knew I would just feel worse if I laid around.  So I listed the duffel bag and the garland on Etsy, and started working on a baby quilt using homespun and vintage denim squares.  I’m using off-white flannel for the backing.  I should be able to finish it tomorrow.

Almost bedtime.  Think I’ll watch a little football then hit the hay.

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Country By Design, Etsy, Family, Food and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

