More vintage denim for Country By Design on Etsy

I’ve been battling a cold this week.  Didn’t realize that I hadn’t been keeping up with my blog.  A stuffy head takes up way too many brain cells!

I have been doing some sewing.  I’m making a serious dent in my stash of old denim jeans.  Sounds better when you say “vintage”!

Jeans pocket purse

I finished another jeans pocket purse last night.  I finally got my head wrapped around what I needed to do to stitch both seams with the sewing machine.  I knew it was possible, but I was having a hard time figuring out how to do it.

When I cut out the inseam, I leave a half-inch of fabric on both sides.  Then I can stitch the pockets to that.  The inseam makes a loop around the pockets and over the top to make the strap.  I insert the zipper first, then stitch the pockets.

Glasses case

I used part of the waist band to make the closure on this glasses case.

Vintage denim tote bag

I really like the way this tote bag turned out.  And it wasn’t as hard to make as I thought it would be.  I’m going to try to make one with more pockets.  This one just has one inside zipper pocket.

Vintage denim duffel bag

I think this duffel bag turned out really nice, too.  It’s a smaller version of the one I made for myself for my trip to Branson.  I did add an extra pocket on the side.

Small make up bag

This cute little bag didn’t take long to make at all.

vintage denim and homespun garland with ribbon

Another garland made to use all the little scraps of denim fabric!  This time I alternated the denim with a red and green plaid homespun and randomly added shiny green fabric ribbons.  Each strip is hand-knotted onto a length of twine.  I left loops at the ends for hanging.

All of these items are listed on Etsy.  You can see more pictures there, too.  I think I have one more pair of jeans to take the back pockets off of, then I’m going to start making quilts again.

Stay tuned!

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Country By Design, Etsy and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to More vintage denim for Country By Design on Etsy

  1. trailblazer1 says:

    Even with the sniffles, you are so productive. Get better soon.

Leave a Reply

