Cooking and sewing

I did more cooking today than anything else.  Did wash a couple of loads of clothes, and water the downstairs plants.  I need to take a photo of my Christmas cactus.  It started blooming this week.

I made another apple pie this afternoon with 5 cups of apple slices and 1 cup of raw cranberries.  I’m taking it to a birthday party tomorrow.  I also made a pecan pumpkin pie using this recipe from SouthernFood.com.  Somehow, it didn’t turn out quite like I had expected.  May have to look at some other recipes.  Or maybe I just wasn’t hungry.

I added an extra pound of ground beef and a chopped green pepper to the chili that I made earlier this week that was way too hot.  It was better, but somehow it tasted different.  I warmed up the cornbread by cutting it into squares, buttering them and putting them in a 350 oven for 10 minutes.  They were perfect, warm and soft, with just a little crust on the edges.

We had fried egg sandwiches for lunch today with black bean salad.  I love egg sandwiches on Italian bread from Wal-Mart.  I won’t make them unless I have the right bread.  Not sure why it makes so much difference.  My black bean salad is super easy.  The dressing is 1/4 cup olive oil, 1 Tbsp balsamic vinegar, 1/2 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp sugar, and 1/2 tsp cumin.  I add that to one can of drained, rinsed black beans, then throw in onions and peppers to taste.  Today it was one red onion, one green pepper,and one red pepper.  I used to add corn, but now it is just beans, onions, and peppers.

Tonight I worked on another duffel bag.  It is all finished except for the ends.  I tweaked the pattern a little bit again on this one.  I think I’m going to like the way it turns out.  I need this one to have enough to give each of my grandsons one for Christmas.  But I think I will make a couple more to list in my Etsy shop because I have sold two of them.  They are unique and different.  As far as I can tell, no one else is making anything just like them.

I did address a few Christmas cards today.  That is something that I need to finish this weekend.  I enjoy doing it, but I have a hard time making myself sit down long enough to do it.

I also need to go through boxes in the basement and straighten things up down there.  I also need to mark the boxes so I don’t have to pull them off the shelf a dozen times to see what is in them!  I’m sure I can make better use of the space I have with a little organization.  Don’t hold your breath!  I don’t stay at that job very long either!

 

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Country By Design, Etsy, Food, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cooking and sewing

  1. You are a busy lady…but, sound like you are doing what you like…so like me!…It’s doing those things that make us happy…and no one else seems to get it!…Enjoy your daily life…

    • I just bought a mannequin on eBay! Guess it will have to be my Christmas present to myself!! I’ve been wanting a good way to display and photograph some of the things I make. Hope it works out. It’s only a half form, and it has to be hung, but the price was right. It’s shipping from CA, so I’ll have to wait to use it.

      Hope you had a great weekend!

      • stitchknits says:

        I bought a half mannequin too, and it seemed to make my picture taking easier. I have a problem with white items still, as that is the color of the plastic. Mine had a hanger, but I took it off,, and weighted the inside of the bottom and “she” works just fine on my cutting table.
        Picture taking is probably the hardest part of this Etsy venture! I’d rather be knitting!

Leave a Reply

