Cranberry cookies and tote bags

I love cranberry nut bread, but wanted to make cookies, so I went online to see if I could find a cookie recipe that used lots of fresh cranberries.  I found this recipe at allrecipes.com.  Sounded good. I added the zest of the orange as well as the juice called for in the recipe.  The dough was really dry, but I baked a sheet full anyway.  They were good, but I knew something wasn’t right, so I checked the recipe.  I couldn’t see any mistakes, so I added the rest of the juice from the orange.  Much better.  I flattened them with a fork, and undercooked them slightly.  Wonderful flavor, and a delicious mix of soft and crips.  Then as I was cleaned off the counter I found the egg which I had set out at the beginning so it could warm up.  Duh!  That’s why I don’t do that!!  Since I had touched the egg, my mind thought I had put it in the dough.  I usually wait to get the eggs out until I’m ready to use them.  I bought more cranberries yesterday so I can remake the recipe using the egg.  Wouldn’t it be something if I liked them better without the egg?  The recipe called for icing, but they so don’t need it.  They taste almost exactly like cranberry nut bread but with a sharper cranberry flavor since the cranberries aren’t cooked as long as they are in the bread.  I will try to get them made so I can bring some on Monday.

I also made this tote.

Large tote bag

I found the floral upholstery/drapery fabric at a treasure shop down in south St. Louis called Pennies in your Pocket.  It’s a really nice shop with a lot of treasures, most of very good quality.  No junk here!  And the prices are reasonable.  Anyway, it caught my eye, even though I knew it was too heavy for quilting, so I had to make a bag of some sort just to use it.  I like this combination with the vintage denim.  Now I want to make one that is somewhat smaller, with more pockets.  When I embarked on this bag making adventure, I didn’t think I would enjoy it, but it gives me another outlet to be creative.  I made Christmas presents for all 13 grand children, plus one great grandson, plus two birthday presents.  Plus I sold two duffel bags, and I made some other vintage denim items that you can see on Etsy.  I made a couple of glasses cases because I found some vintage trim, and I made another duffel bag because my son gave me some khaki pants.  Last night I made my first bag without a pattern.  Someone had ask me to make a pencil case.  I think it turned out pretty good.  I’ll post a picture later.

 

 

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Country By Design, Etsy, Food, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cranberry cookies and tote bags

  1. trailblazer1 says:

    Baking can lead to oops! moments. My daughter and I were baking a tone of peanut blossom cookies, with the kisses in the middle. They usually puff up and are soft. But these came out crispy – not over baked. My daughter thought she had bought pre-sifted flour – so didn’t sift. That made them crispy – but I told her they will be cook for dunking. Since most were gifts, she bought more stuff and baked again – sifting this time. Good either way.

  2. I love your tote bags but, especially the duffels…I guess we’ve all made mistakes when baking…I wish you would read my blog dated February 23,2011 called “Top Secret Ingredient”…It will surely make you laugh…

Leave a Reply

