Satin flowers

My latest Etsy listings have been for satin flowers.  I have looked at pictures of satin flowers and wondered how they were made, but this is the first time I have tried to make one.  The first two that I made are from bias cut strips that I shaped by pulling on the edges.  I used a vintage button for the center.

Satin flower

I also tried burning the edges.  It worked, but I didn’t care for the results.  Just pulling against the grain created a slightly fluffy appearance that I do like.

 

I tried several different versions of leaves.  I wanted a folded leaf, but a couldn’t come up with one I liked.  I did figure out a semi-folded version after I had these finished.  I may use it next time.

 

Then I found directions that I had saved sometime, so I tried making a flower their way.  In those directions, you started with a 36 inch long strip of fabric.  I do like their method of curving the ends, then using that side for the gathering stitches.  In the first two, I pulled up the gathering stitches, stitched the flower into shape, then attached it to a base.  For this one, I attached it to the base as I went.  I found some pearl beads so I used them for the center.

Satin flower with pearl beads

I may try to combine the best of both designs.  Cutting the strips on the bias and stitching to the base as I go.  If they don’t sell, I’m going to make some more of the jeans pocket purses and use them for decorations.

Tonight I worked on a table runner and a baby quilt.  I’m making both from fabrics in my stash.  Using fabrics in my stash has been one of my New Year’s resolutions for several years now.  I’ve made a big dent in my vintage denim stash.  Now if I can just do the same for the rest of my stash!

I had been given a box and three bags of fabric last year, so I’m going to try to work on those, too.  The off-white satin was in one of those bags.  I found a piece of blue and white striped suiting fabric that I think will work really well as a tote bag or a duffel bag.  Stand tuned for more news from that front.

Wishing one and all a very Happy New Year!  I’m going to celebrate by going to bed early!!

 

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Country By Design, Etsy and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Satin flowers

  1. Both types of your silky designs are awesome…I was determined to use up all of my Christmas supplies I had collected over the years…so I understand your stash of material…Then it will be so fun to purchase something new!…

    • I didn’t come close to using all of the Christmas fabric I had/have. I spent too much time making things for all the grandkids. I’m going to have to sneak in something every month to use as a gift so that I don’t spend so much time making gifts in December. What are you working on now?

  2. Aussie Emjay says:

    These are so very pretty.

Leave a Reply

