Quilted purse and crochet soft sculptures

Quilted purse for Etsy

I had a lot of squares left over from the spring baby quilt, so I decided to try making a purse.  I did have a picture and some directions, which of course I didn’t follow.   I had 5 inch squares cut for the quilt, so I cut each of them into 4 pieces.  The 2 1/2 inch squares end up being 2 inch squares after they are stitched together.  I quilted them to a piece of batting after I had them all stitched together.  Actually, I made 5 pieces, then quilted them.  There is both sides, two ends and a bottom.

The directions I had called for a pleated ribbon around the top, so I added a gathered strip.  Then I decided that I wanted to add a zipper.  That would have been easier if I had done it first instead of last!  Then I added lining with a zipper pocket.  If I make another one, I’m going to made the straps longer.  The directions called for 12 inch handles and I made mine 18 inches, but another 4 to 6 inches would have been nice.

I finished a table runner today, too, but it is in the dryer.  It is made with alternating denim squares and a bright pastel stripe.  That’s a little outside my comfort zone, but it is striking.    I’ll try to get a photo tomorrow.

Crochet soft sculpture

Here’s the latest in my collection of crochet soft sculpture.  I never know what is going to happen when I pick up the crochet hook and fabric strips.  I just start and let the design evolve as I go.  So much fun!  You can see all of them at http://www.countrybydesign.etsy.com.

We have been having some unusually warm weather.  I got out as far as the mail box.  I just don’t like being out in the wind, unless it’s summer.  It makes my ears hurt.

Made tapioca pudding tonight to go with our leftovers.  It is so good!  It’s easy to do when you use the microwave to cook it.  I did have one disaster this week.  I made some cauliflower soup that just didn’t do anything.  I tried to doctor it up tonight, but I think the dogs are going to get the rest of it.  I made some bean soup this week that was out of this world.  It was the best soup I have ever made, that I can remember anyway!  The cornbread was yummy, too.

Time to go watch the end of the football game.

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Country By Design, Etsy, Food and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Quilted purse and crochet soft sculptures

  1. Kay says:

    Reblogged this on Stitchinglife and commented:
    love the crocheted sculptures

Leave a Reply

