What’s new at Country by Design

Wow!  I didn’t realize it had been so long since I had posted anything here.  Last weekend was a total wash.  We started moving everything out of the dining room on Thursday and tearing up the old self-stick floor tile.  That project continued on Friday and extended into Saturday when we added the kitchen to the list of rooms that were totally messed up.  The whole house was messed up because the rooms that weren’t getting new floors were full of furniture from the rooms that were!  In addition to that, I was finishing up two birthday presents for a party on Sunday and entertaining a grandson so his dad could help with the new floor. By Saturday evening we had a new wood (laminate) floor in both rooms that looks like narrow red oak planks.  A big improvement over what we did have!  On Sunday, we started moving things back where they had been, and went to the birthday party in St. Louis.  I should have gotten pictures of the birthday girls with their presents, but didn’t, so here they are without their new owners.

Yellow infinity scarf

I had been thinking about making infinity scarves, but hadn’t tried it yet until last week.  I just barely had enough of this pretty, soft yellow fabric to make a short scarf, perfect for a skinny 13 year old!  She and her sister immediately figured out ways to wear it around their head as well as around their neck.  The fabric was so thin and filmy that I had to stitch the seam through tissue paper to keep it from gathering up. The 10-year-old wanted me to make her a new quilt, so I got out my homespuns and flannel for her.

Homespun quilt

I made the squares bigger than I usually do so the finished quilt wouldn’t be too heavy.  With two layers of flannel, it is warm and ready for snuggling.  Her first quilt is getting too small and is almost threadbare from so much loving. I have started something now that I am going to have to try to keep up, making gifts for birthdays and Christmas.  The next one is a three-year old boy, but he is getting a new bedroom soon with a sports theme, so I’m going to try to make a football pillow.  I know I can buy one for $10 at Wal-Mart, but I want to try to make one.  I found a vintage pattern on Etsy today with patterns for lots of balls, and other sports stuff, so I ordered it.  I also found some brushed suede fabric that I had used to make an Indian costume a long time ago. I have had my nose to the grindstone this week trying to make as many runners as I could using fabric with a Valentine’s Day theme from my stash.  I was also in the mood to try some new ideas since I had just spent a week on a rag quilt.  I think I came up with an interesting assortment.

Four patch and combination block table runner

I had made the four patch squares for this runner last year, so I added the combination blocks to bring it all together.

Table mat with combination and hourglass blocks

I actually started with a pattern for this, but I got lost somewhere along the way.  I have a lot of trouble figuring out how things are going to look after you finish stitching and cutting. The pattern called for 8 different fabrics, but I think 4 would have been enough.

Table runner with log cabin blocks

Table runner with log cabin blocks

I have always been disappointed in my log cabin blocks because they were always so out of square.  I tried a different technique for stitching the strips and got much better results.  And I do like using black as a contrast for the red and pink squares.  I machine quilted this runner by stitching in squares inside each block.

Table runner with combination blocks

I made a set of these combination blocks so I could explore their possibilities.  Since they are made by stitching a triangle square to a solid square, you end up with right-handed and left-handed blocks.  I’m sure there are other ways to arrange them, but trying to figure it out was more than I wanted to tackle right now.  Maybe later!

All About Hearts table runner

I love appliqued hearts, so I decided to make a whole runner of them.  I should have taken time to hand quilt around the hearts, but I would have had to ask a lot more for it.  It’s impressive just the way it is anyway. I took the day off from quilting today.  Needed to recharge my batteries!  I have a set of coasters that I need to finish, but I will probably start on something new tomorrow.  I like to have two projects going a the same time, so if I get stuck doing one, I can go work on the other one for a while.  I need to take inventory tomorrow and see if I still have enough fabric to make more Valentine’s Day runners or quilts.  I would like to make a rag quilted runner using triangle squares. If you would like to see more pictures of the runners, go to http://www.countrybydesign.etsy.com.  When I just sold on eBay, I sold several runners and place mats for Valentine’s Day, but I haven’t had much interest this year.  I don’t think I will make anything for St. Patrick’s Day, unless I already have the fabric.  I really do want to reduce the amount of fabric in my stash, then restock. Time to go to bed.  Glad that tomorrow is supposed to be warmer!

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Country By Design, Etsy and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What’s new at Country by Design

  1. I was just wondering “Where you were?”…love looking at your creations…been busy I see…and as usual beautiful work!…mkg

    • I was really in a groove last week. I used to stop sewing at about 9:00 then spend an hour or so working on my computer, but then I had a couple of projects that I wanted to finish before I went to bed, so I skipped computer time. I haven’t done anything this weekend except work on the computer. Sewing machine, here I come!

  2. cross(stitch)yourheart says:

    I love the yellow infinity scarf, do you have plans to make anymore/in different colors?

    • Yes, I am planning to make more infinity scarves. I just happened to have that piece of yellow in my stash. It was the perfect weight. I will look for more similar fabrics the next time to go fabric shopping. Did you have a color in mind?

      • cross(stitch)yourheart says:

        Well, I’m a fan of anything blue personally, but it seems like the kind of scarf that would look good in any color as well.

        • They are very versatile. I need to look in my closet and see if I have any blue fabric. I’ve accumulated a lot of fabric heavy enough for quilts, but it needs to be much lighter for a scarf. I’ll let you know if I find anything.

Leave a Reply

