Football pillow and other stuff

Handmade football

We are invited to a birthday party for our youngest grandson tomorrow.  He turned 3 on Thursday.  Continuing with my plan for handmade birthday presents this year, I made this football pillow for him.  I accidentally found the pattern on Etsy.  Don’t remember what I was looking for.  I might have been able to wing it, having a pattern made it a lot easier.  I thought I had the brown fabric leftover from an Indian costume, and I actually found it!  That is an amazing feat in itself.  The pattern called for gluing on white felt for the stripes, but I didn’t have fabric glue or white felt, so I stitched on white minky stripes.  I tried doing it before I stuffed the pillow but that was almost impossible.  Much easier with the stuffing.  I didn’t stuff it as tight as I could because I wanted it to be soft.  The pattern included directions for lacings, but my markings disappeared before I could get them stitched, so I just forgot about them.  The pattern includes directions for a softball, a tennis ball, a soccer ball, and a basketball.  Bet you can guess what all the boys will be getting for their birthdays this year!

I also worked on a pink baby blanket today.  I’m making pieced squares with four pieces of fabric, so it isn’t the fastest quilt I’ve ever made, but I think I’m going to like it.  I got most of the squares pieced today.

Made some really good vegetable soup tonight with a beef broth base.  Used lots of onions, celery, carrots, peas, and tomatoes as well as some noodles.  Didn’t miss the beef at all.  Added a few red pepper flakes and about a teaspoon of horseradish for a little kick.  The cornbread was so good that I ate a piece with my soup and another piece for dessert.  I need to put my recipe in the St. Clement cookbook.  I’m going to have to get serious about getting my recipes put together soon!

We had about an inch of snow on the ground this morning.  Rather slick on paved surfaces.  We had sunshine all day for the first time in several days.  It was lovely!

I found an old Singer applique pattern that I am going to list on Etsy.  It looks like it was a handout because it doesn’t have a price on it.  The copyright date is 1960.  It may have been something my mom picked up at a home economist convention.

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Country By Design, Family, Food and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

