Rag baby quilt and travel bag

Rag quilted baby blanket in pink and brown

I finished the baby quilt I’ve been working on, finally!  This is one of my favorite quilt designs.  I’ve used it before, but this is the first time I have tried it in a rag quilt.  It’s in the washing machine now, so I will have to wait until tomorrow to show you how it really looks.

I have also been working on a travel tote.  Here’s the front with a double pocket and a key clip.

Close up of front of travel tote

And here’s the back side.

Zipper pocket on back of bag

I knew I wanted an outside zipper pocket, but wasn’t sure how to make it.  I thought it out last night after I went to bed, but I still had a hard time getting my head wrapped around it.  The corded binding on both sides of the zipper, and the entire inner pocket, are one piece of fabric.  I’m glad to don’t have to try to write the directions for doing that!  I may come up with some simpler/better way to do it, but for now it is a bit involved.

I’m going to put pockets on each end, too, and add a lining with pockets to the inside.  And I think I’m going to make a little organizer to go with it that can be taken out and used on its own.

I went in to quilt with my church group this afternoon.  It was warm enough that I didn’t wear a coat.  My daffodil bulbs on the south side of the house are already up about 4 inches.  I’m afraid they may get their noses nipped!  I think we have colder weather moving in for the weekend.

I’m hoping to finish the bag tomorrow, then decide what I want to do next.  I don’t think I’m going to make anything for St. Patrick‘s Day.  And I don’t have another birthday until the end of March.  I may try to make a baby boy rag quilt like the pink one I just finished, only in blue.  I’ll let you know tomorrow!

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Country By Design, Etsy, Quilting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Rag baby quilt and travel bag

  1. cross(stitch)yourheart says:

    Everything you do just looks so cool. You’ve become my crafting inspiration 🙂

  2. I can’t wait to make this baby quilt!!! 🙂

    • I love this pattern. I call it brick road, but it probably has a different name. It really did work up nice in all the different pinks. Be sure to publish a picture of yours!

Leave a Reply

