Quilt, mug rugs, and linen bag for Etsy

My computer has been acting so silly that I couldn’t stand to use it for more than just a few minutes.  This afternoon I deleted all of my history and temp files and rebooted, and now it is working like new!  Wish I had done it a week ago.

I have been quilting and sewing.  Here’s the throw I made from men’s shirts.

Throw made from men's shirts

I used flannel for the backing so it is nice and soft and warm.  Just right for a chilly evening.

Linen bag from pant's pockets

Continuing with my upcycling theme, I made this cute little bag from the back pockets from a pair of linen pants.  The buttons and trim are vintage. And I made it by hand!

Mug rugs from men's shirts

I  have some of the squares from the throw that I didn’t use, so I put a few of them together to make this set of mug rugs.  I pieced the squares by machine, but I quilted them by hand!

I’m working on courthouse steps blocks now.  I’ve never done a courthouse step block before, and it took me longer to get my head wrapped around it than it should have, but I’m catching on!  I need to add one more row to three squares to have a set of five squares.  Then I will have to decide it I what I want to do with them.  I’ll play around with them tomorrow.  Right now I’m thinking about a table runner or a baby quilt.

I’m going to have to do some more work on my computer tomorrow, too.  I need to get my records up to date.  I’m about two weeks behind already!

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Country By Design, Etsy, Quilting, Sewing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Quilt, mug rugs, and linen bag for Etsy

  1. The linen bag is awesome…you are surely an artist with material as your canvas! ~ mkg

  2. stitchknit says:

    Love the use of the mens shirts! Beautiful work.

    I’m another linen fan! Love how it ‘behaves’ when I work with it!

    • I still have a few of the men’s shirts squares left. Trying to decide what else I can make. The only thing I have been able to come up with is a dog bed or rug. I do want to go ahead and make something rather than putting the extra squares away.

Leave a Reply

