How to: Getting started with hand embroidery

I’m thinking about doing some hand embroidery on some of my linen items.  I even found some embroidery thread.  I was going to buy some at Wal-Mart on Saturday, but they didn’t have any.  Guess there aren’t many people doing hand embroidery any more.  I’ve been looking for a sort of dictionary of simple embroidery stitches, but still haven’t found what I’m looking for.  I did find this useful article that is helpful if you are new to embroidery.  You can check it out here.

I did finish the courthouse steps table runner that I have been working on for about a week.  I’ll take some pictures as soon as I get it washed tomorrow.

.

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Quilting, Sewing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to How to: Getting started with hand embroidery

  1. I’ve tried my very primative embroider techniques as small gifts for a few people … My Mom was my teacher… simple stiches but, the main ones…I get messy on the back…”Not good”…but my remedy for that is to sew a back on the things I can to cover all… My recipients love these handmade treasures…so I would say go ahead and give it a whirl… great simpllified beginning instructions you have shared…THANKS!

    • I ended up ordering a book from Amazon.com last night. I know there are all the directions I need on the computer, but my computer is two flights of stairs away from my “studio”, and I misplace sheets of paper faster than you can imagine.

  2. We are Hand & Lock the hand embroidery company in London which also has the The Hand & Lock School of Embroidery. May we suggest that you google the Encyclopedia of Needlework by Therese de Dillmont and you’ll find all that your looking for.

    Alastair

  3. cherie says:

    If you like vintage embroidery patterns please visit my site that is loaded with free patterns.
    http://french-knots.com
    I just started making rag quilts after 25 years of doing them the traditional way. Nice blog you have here!

Leave a Reply

