Shamrock table runner and other adventures

I decided that I wanted to get my hair cut this morning, even though my hubby had taken the truck and left me with my car that wasn’t running the way it should.  The last time I had driven it, it had died several times and the gas pedal would stick.  But off I went, even though it barely started.  I figured that the battery would recharge by the time I got there.

I was only 4 miles away from the house when it died the first time, but it restarted right away.  Another 4 miles or so, it died again, and restarted again.  But then when I got to the stop sign on the side street right beside where I was going, it died for the third time, and was dead as a door nail.

So, I just get out, leave it sitting at the stop sign, and go in to get my hair cut.  Makes perfect sense, doesn’t it?  I had taken my SIL with me because she wanted to get her hair cut, too, so in about half an hour, I go back out to the car and it is really dead.  No lights, no horn, nothing!  So the salon owner calls her hubby who comes up and jumps my battery.  It starts right away, but will not idle unless I have my foot on the gas pedal.

So I contemplated the best way to get home knowing that I have to keep the RPMs up so that it won’t die on me and leave us stranded out in the boonies.  I decided to go the long way home so that I wouldn’t have to come to a complete stop at any time.  It was still interesting making the four turns with the car out of gear so I could keep one foot on the gas and the other on the brake.   That was more excitement than I’ve had in a month of Sundays.

Shamrock table runner

I listed this shamrock table runner today on Etsy.  Doubt if I will make anything else for St. Patrick‘s Day.  I have some other ideas that I want to work on.  I am making one Easter table runner.  I got the squares pieced and stitched together today. Should get the borders on in the morning.  I also made a couple of little heart-shaped ornaments that were similar to the picture I posted some time ago.  May make a few more of those.  I forgot to take pictures today while the sun was shining.

I did find a recipe for some awesome gluten free bread, but I think I’ll save it for tomorrow.  I’m getting tired, and it is past my bedtime.

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Country By Design, Etsy, Quilting, Sewing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Shamrock table runner and other adventures

  1. you are an adventurous lady…I hate car trouble!…glad you made it home…love the runner…you will sell that soon I know ~mkg

    • We live out in the country where everyone knows everyone, and even though I was going to the hair salon for the first time, I wasn’t too concerned. For the most part, my life is very boring.

      My shamrock place mats sold, so I’m hoping the runner does, too. Holiday stuff doesn’t seem to sell as well as I thought it would.

Leave a Reply

