Homemade pies

I have made more pies in the past week than in the past year or two!

I’ve made four of these lemon meringue pies.  I finally got the meringue made right on this one, but I still need to work on my peaks.  They should look better than this.  Here is a link to the Betty Crocker recipe that I use to make my lemon meringue pies.

I also made a blackberry pie yesterday, but didn’t get a picture.  But it was picture perfect.  Here’s the link to that recipe.

This morning, I decided to make a cherry pie, but had to search for a recipe since it had been so long since I had made one.  I had a hard time decided which one to try, but I think I picked the right one.

I took this one to quilting this afternoon so I would have a taste panel, and I came home with an empty pie plate.  I used to make a lot of cherry pies, but I don’t remember any that I made or any that I’ve eaten anywhere else, tasting as good as this one did. Here is the recipe that I used.  It remembered putting cinnamon in my cherry pie, but this one just called for almond extract.  Yum!  It is perfect!!

Since I was pretty sure that I wouldn’t be bringing any cherry pie home from quilting, I made this custard pie to leave at home.  I used the recipe from my Betty Crocker cookbook for this one.  I tried to find a link but the Betty Crocker page didn’t provide a direct link.  Slightly warm custard pie is very good, too.  So easy to make.

Yellow daffodils

It had rained Sunday night, but the sun was shining early Monday morning when I went out and caught these daffodils blooming on the south side of my house.

I did work on the baby lovie tonight.  I finished sewing it together and started clipping the borders.  I made the border different from anything I have made before, so we will see what happens after I wash it.  I need to do laundry tomorrow, and work on my flower bed, too.  It sounds like we can count on nice warm weather for at least another week.

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Food, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Homemade pies

  1. Pingback: The Versatile Blogger Award! « Cross(stitch) Your Heart

  2. sybaritica says:

    lovely pictures…

Leave a Reply

