Rag quilted baby lovie for Etsy

Rag quilted baby lovie

Here’s the little baby lovie that I listed on Etsy today.  I got the idea for the three-dimensional triangles from a quilt designed by Karen DuMont of KariePatch Designs.  It is featured in the April/May issue of Quilt.

Three dimensional triangles

I made the little triangles with white flannel and brown satin to make them fun for little fingers.  In the pattern in the magazine, both pieces of fabric for the triangles were the same size.  I made mine with a 2 1/2 by five-inch piece of white flannel and a 3 by 5 inch piece of brown satin.  You stitch the long edges of both pieces together, then press with the satin folded to the flannel side.  In my case, it was the width of the seam allowance.  Then I stitched the short ends together before folding them down diagonally.  Then the short seams were stitched to the raw edges of the long side of the pieces.  Page 62 of the magazine has detailed directions.  Here’s the picture that gave me the idea.

It really is a neat technique, once you get the hang of it.  Don’t know that I will use it to make a big quilt like this, but you never know…

Outside edge of baby lovie

I did do something different on the outside edge of this one.  I used the brown satin to make a ruffle which I basted in place, then I added the white flannel strip which I clipped.  I may do this again.  I rather like it!

Yellow daffodils

One more shot of my yellow daffodils.  I had a choice this afternoon.  I had time to make some granola or go out and attack the hen bit again.  Going outside won.  I spent an hour outside with bare feet pulling weeds from a 10 foot section of my flower bed.  I was surprised at how warm the ground was already.  While I was weeding, I was watching and listening to a storm coming in from the southwest.  About half an hour after I came in, it started raining.  And it rained for several hours, with a little hail thrown in for good measure.  Finally got some water running into the lake!  It’s been almost a year since we had gotten a rain like that.

I did start on another project today.  I was going to start on a softball pillow for a birthday present, but I don’t remember where I put the pattern!  I hate it when I can’t find things!!
So I started on a tooth fairy pillow.  I embroidered the face onto the fleece before I cut out the tooth.  Now I’m stitching it to a jean’s pocket with a buttonhole stitch.  It is going to be cute!  I’m going to lightly stuff the tooth, then add a backing to the pocket and stuff it like a little pillow.  May add a handle so it can be hung on a door knob.

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Country By Design, Etsy, Sewing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Rag quilted baby lovie for Etsy

  1. The bright colored quilt reminds me of pinwheels…how original…~mkg

  2. It’s absolutely darlin’!!

Leave a Reply

