Easy, fresh salsa recipe

I found a Paula Deen recipe that doesn’t call for a stick of butter.  Can you believe it!

I wanted to make some fresh salsa last week, so I turned to the web for a recipe.  I decided to start with this recipe for Homemade Salsa from Paula Deen on the Food Network website.

I used a 14 ounce can of diced tomatoes, the cheapest ones at Wal-Mart.  They were perfect.  Instead of big, hard pieces, they looked like they had been mashed.  The only things I added to the basic recipe were 1/2 tsp. salt, 1/2 tsp. sugar, and 1/2 tsp cumin.

A group of 20 something boys were my test tasters, and they licked it right up!  I’ll have to make some more for this weekend so I can get more than a little taste.

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Country By Design, Food, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Easy, fresh salsa recipe

  1. How easy is that!…I know I can find a taste tester or two…~mkg

Leave a Reply

