Dark sweet cherries and more

I had planned to make a cherry pie with canned sour cherries this afternoon.  For a change, I started getting everything out before I started making anything.  As soon as I opened one can of the cherries, I knew something was wrong.  I had bought two cans of dark sweet cherries instead of sour cherries.  I could have used them in a pie, but didn’t want to.

So the search was on.  I remember making a jello dessert using dark sweet cherries that was really good, but I couldn’t find the recipe.  I looked in my cookbooks and on-line, but didn’t find it.  Must have been something I found in a magazine.

After looking at dozens of recipes at several different sites I’m not finding anything I want to make, or that I have the ingredients for.  I finally decided that the most logical thing to make was a clafouti, a French cake-like dessert.  I finally went to http://www.prevention.com and found this recipe.  It was simple, easy to make, and didn’t have any unusual ingredients.  It was supposed to be for tomorrow, but I had to try a piece for dinner.  It reminded me of bread pudding.  I liked it, but I think it needs a sauce or ice cream, or something.  I used both cans of cherries, drained, for the cherries in the recipe and spread them out in a single layer in the bottom of a 7 by 11 inch pan.

I also made another batch of the fresh salsa that I made last week, and cooked potatoes for potato salad, and cooked the pasta for pasta salad.  I also cooked some eggs and colored them with food coloring so we would have a few for the weekend.  Tomorrow I will finish up the pasta and potato salad and make the Greek salad.  And I want to make a lemon pie.

Still had time to finish two tooth fairy pillows.  I finished a big duffel bag this week, too, but I haven’t taken any pictures.  I have spent some time updating my Etsy shop, too.

 

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dark sweet cherries and more

  1. cross(stitch)yourheart says:

    sounds delicious!

  2. Pingback: Our Easter feast | Country By Design's Blog

Leave a Reply

