Successful gluten free baking

Some time ago I ordered a set of different gluten free bread mixes from Chebe.  They are made with tapioca flour and starch so they are naturally gluten free.  This week I tried the bread sticks.  I didn’t tell anyone that they were gluten free, and no one guessed.  They are very good.

Yesterday was another cool, rainy day, perfect for baking except the kitchen was so cold I had a hard time getting my bread dough to rise.  I hadn’t made cinnamon rolls in years, but I was hungry for cinnamon, so I dug up my recipe.  This is basically the same Betty Crocker recipe  that I used.  I must be losing my sweet tooth, because I couldn’t eat more than just a small piece.  They are too sweet.

While my cinnamon rolls were baking, I whipped up a batch on gluten free oatmeal scones from a recipe in one of my books.  Very fast and easy to make in the food processor!  I would rather have one of my gluten free oatmeal scones with a touch of agave nectar than I cinnamon roll.  Crazy, right!

It rained most of the night and today looks like more of the same.  At least I won’t have to water any of the outside plants.  And it should help anything that going to come up in the garden go ahead a do it.

My ticker tape table runner is in the dryer.  Not sure it’s going to be light enough to take any good pictures today.

I turned my computer off, unplugged the dish, and unplugged the power strip last night to reset my internet connect.  Sometimes it gets a little wacky.

Need to do laundry, etc. today.  We have plenty of leftovers for lunch.

 

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Food, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

