Photos from the golden hour

The hour before sunset is my favorite time of the day to take photographs.  Even though my flower bed runs east to west, I can usually get some good shots.

Here’s a few that I took tonight.

Small spider on iris petals

I’m always on the look-out for insects on the flowers.  This tiny spider is barely an 1/8 of an inch long.

Small beetle/lady bug

I thought this was lady bug when I took the shot, but now I’m thinking it may be a Japanese beetle.  I didn’t realize he had two white spots on his shoulders and next to his eyes.  He was about 1/4 inch long.

Close-up of pink iris

Here’s an illustration of the golden light just before sunset.  The colors are perfect and every detail is visible.  I like taking super close-ups of iris.

 

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Nature, photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Photos from the golden hour

  1. Seasonsgirl says:

    Very pretty photos. What kind of camera do you use?

    • Thank you. These were taken with a Canon Powershot SD1200IS, a little digital elph. The nature walk ones were taken with a Canon Powershot A540. I didn’t do any editing to either set, just cropping.

  2. Loves the Iris photo… is that how you tell the difference between the ladybug and beetle…so deceiving isn’t he! ~mkg

  3. Pingback: Ladybird beetles | Country By Design's Blog

Leave a Reply

