Long time gone…

What has happened to this summer?  I don’t remember ever being as busy as I have been this year.  I feel like I have either been out-of-town, or had company, more than I have been home alone. I’m not going to try to catch up, so to speak, but just bring in some of my activities as they come to me.

Recently, I was part of the sag wagon team for my brother, my son, and my son-in-law as they attempted to bike across Missouri.  Here they are dipping their back tires in the Missouri River as they start their journey on Day One.

BAAM Team – 2012

We had gotten up early so we could leave Jefferson City at 3:00 am so we could get to the starting point before the heat of the day set in.  Left to right they are my son David, his daughter Hannah, my son-in-law Ben, and my brother Bruce.  This was their first (annual) trip across MO.  Hannah only rode for a few miles on the first day and the last day.

Members of the sag wagon team.

I didn’t realize what was involved in a bike adventure across the state.  David had laid out the route staying on back roads as much as possible.  The members of the sag wagon team had time of a couple of fun stops.  Our first stop was at a gift shop in Savannah.  Very nice.  It was the only place that was open so early in the morning.  This was our second stop, and our last taste of civilization.  I had no idea you could drive so many miles in MO and not find even a gas station.  Lots of farm land, and this morning, a large wind farm and chicken or turkey buildings.

Building in King City

One of the more interesting buildings we passed.  I think it is in King City.

Ben trying to find shade

In the afternoon, it was hot and shade was hard to come by.  But the end was in sight.  We ended the day in Trenton.  Lots of miles on a bike on a hot day in July.

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in BAAM and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Long time gone…

  1. This sounds like a real adventure…and to do it with family is great…All will have fun I’m, sure!~mkg

  2. ladywise says:

    That sounds like a great time! I wondered where you had been. I forgot you do the camp every year. Glad you’ve enjoyed yourself this summer. You’ll have good memories when winter sets in this year and you’re house bound. lol

Leave a Reply

