Dreaming of my mother

I have been sleeping more soundly this week, and having a few dreams that I can remember, which is unusual.  Last night, I dreamed that I was working at Wal-Mart.  I got to work and walked in the door only to realize that I hadn’t changed clothes and had on a pair of blue shorts.

No panic yet.  I would just buy a pair of pants and a shirt.  I begin looking for blue jeans, even though I need khakis.  When I can find blue jeans, I start looking for blue slacks.  At one point I remember looking a tan overalls!  No I’m starting to panic.  I look at my watch and it’s 4:20.  I’m already 20 minutes late to clock in.  I’m getting frantic when suddenly my mom, who died 10 years ago, is right beside me.  She is young again, and she looks so happy.  I especially remember her clear brown eyes.

The rest of the dream sort of fell apart and I don’t remember if I made it to work or not, but I do remember my mom.  I have never seen her in any dreams before.  In fact, I usually don’t know the people in my dreams.

Not sure what to make of this dream, but at least I will have a happy memory.

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dreaming of my mother

  1. Dianne Martin says:

    Beautiful dream, I don’t think it really means anything. Something in your day triggered it and the fact that it was a happy memory just makes it all the better. Your mother must have made you feel safe and took away your worries. I love the dream and I love you too! I miss you terribly….

  2. Mother

    To see your mother in your dream represents the nurturing aspect of your own character. Mothers offer shelter, comfort, life, guidance and protection. Some people may have problems freeing themselves from their mothers and are thus seeking their own individuality and development.
    That’s what “Dream Moods” says about your dream concerning your Mother…I agree…they are our nuturer…guide and protector…It’s funny how you don’t dream of her for years and then all of a sudden you do…Life is a mystery…~mkg

    • Thanks for the info. As a general rule, I don’t remember what I dream, or if I dream at all. If I do remember, it’s usually been a nightmare, so to have her show up in such a reassuring way was comforting.

Leave a Reply

