Table Runner and pot holders

 

I’ve been trying to use all of the squares from a set of Java charm packs that I ordered from charmpacksplus.  Jeanelle is so helpful that I order all of my charm packs from her unless she is already sold out of what I want.  I ordered a couple of new sets for fall today.

I finished a couple of coasters earlier and have them listed in my Etsy shop.  Today I finished a set of potholders and a small table runner.  The pot holders aren’t perfect, but it was the first time I have been happy with machine stitched binding.   I found these directions.  They are well written and include  photographs that are excellent!  I basically followed them to the letter, except I stitched one side at a time so I had more control at the corners and didn’t need to use pins.  Here’s a picture of one side of mine.

Java potholders with hanging loops

The other side is also made with Java squares so they are reversible.  Next time I will use matching thread for the binding.  As a general rule, I do everything with white or off-white thread.  It’s easier to move from one project to the next if you don’t have to change thread.  Especially when you are working on two or three projects at the same time.

And here’s the table runner.

Java table runner

I’m going to run it through the washer and dryer to make it look more old fashioned.  I stitched the binding to the back by hand on this.  I’m going to call it “Spots and Dots”.

Heard back from the customer who wants a duffel bag.  She likes the Riley Blake fabric, too.  So I started on her bag tonight, and another table runner.

I did make the gluten free apple and pear crisp this morning.  I don’t think you would guess that it is gluten free.  I’m going to try making some pear sauce tomorrow.  All of the directions I read tonight say to peel the pears, but they are so small that I’m going to try running them through the food mill instead.

We got a little shower of rain this morning, then it got hot and muggy this afternoon.  Supposed to be hot again tomorrow.  Yuck!

 

 

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Country By Design, Etsy, Sewing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Table Runner and pot holders

  1. love the colors and pattern of the pot holders…keep up the good work…~mkg

  2. Pingback: It’s A Cover Upper! | Creations2Treasure

  3. Cathy says:

    OMG! Those potholders are adorable! I noticed your potholders were a different pattern then the link that gave the directions to the potholder. Can you tell me each of piece sizes for the potholder you made? Thanks so much !! 🙂

Leave a Reply

