Pillows with ruffles and embroidery

I have been trying to make birthday and Christmas presents for all 13 of my grandchildren for the past year or so.  So last week it was working on ruffled pillows for two of my granddaughters, a 14 year old and an 11 year old.  They had both ask for pillows with ruffles and their names for Christmas but I didn’t get them done, so I knew what I wanted to make, but I didn’t know exactly how I wanted to make them.  I had made a couple last summer using upcycled knit fabric, but I didn’t have any knit fabric in the right colors, so it was on to plan B.  Since I didn’t know exactly how I was going to make them, I kept putting off getting started.

In the end, I did what I usually do when I want to make something but don’t have a pattern or directions.  I just started!  I did the back of the blue one first, since I knew how I wanted to do the names.  I was trying to avoid hemming so many strips of fabric, so I tried making double ruffles, but I don’t think I will do that again.  It used a lot of fabric.

Here’s the front and back of the first one.

Blue and green pillow with ruffles

Blue and green pillow with ruffles

Back of Caitie's pillow

Back of Caitie’s pillow

And here’s the front and back of the yellow one.

Yellow pillow with ruffles

Yellow pillow with ruffles

Back of Brigid's pillow

Back of Brigid’s pillow

 

 

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Country By Design, Family, Sewing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Pillows with ruffles and embroidery

  1. I imagine your Granddaughter’s just love that you can sew…

  2. cross(stitch)yourheart says:

    What a wonderful gift idea. You must be the favorite grandmother!

  3. janelle says:

    I really like the embroidery. Is that hand-done?

Leave a Reply

