Brown Sugar Zucchini Bread

A lot of water has gone under the bridge since my last post here, and I may, at some point, try to fill in the blanks, but for right now, I’m going to pick up fresh and start over!

Brown sugar zucchini bread
Brown sugar zucchini bread

We don’t have a garden this summer, so I didn’t mind finding stray zucchini on my kitchen counter.  I tried one zucchini bread recipe that I thought was the one that I really liked last year, but it didn’t have very much flavor, so I went looking for another recipe.  It was hard to decide since they are a dime a dozen on the internet.  This one caught my eye because it calls for oatmeal, which I like a lot.  The more fiber the better.

 

Here’s the original recipe for brown sugar zucchini bread.

 

And here’s my version.

Oatmeal Zucchini Bread

2 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 cup packed light brown sugar

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

1/2 tsp ground ginger

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

1 cup old-fashioned rolled oats

3 large eggs

3/4 cup canola oil

2 tsp pure vanilla extract

3 cups grated zucchini

1 cup chopped walnuts

Preheat oven to 350.  Grease and sugar 5 mini loaf pans.

Stir together all dry ingredients in large mixing bowl.  Combine eggs, oil and vanilla and add to bowl.  Stir in zucchini and nuts.

Divide batter between pans and bake for 35 to 40 minutes.

This recipe was adapted from the Food Network, but I think I made enough changes to call it my own.  Enjoy!

 

 

 

 

 

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Brown Sugar Zucchini Bread

  1. Hi!

    Your blog caught my attention thanks to the quality of your recipes. From myTaste.com, one of the biggest recipe search engines in United States and in the world, we would like to invite you to add your blog to our site and make your recipes available to lots of people.

    This is one way to share your recipes with the world and it can also help you increase your blog traffic.

    To join Mytaste.com, just go to: http://www.mytaste.com/add-your-food-blog

    Sincerely,
    Mytaste.com

Leave a Reply

